PDA

View Full Version : Casting .38 and 9mm

Gatorade
03-14-2016, 02:30 PM
Does anyone cast bullets for 9mm and .38? Is that .001" difference between the two that big a difference? I wouldn't mind a heavy 9mm and a light .38 if I could use the same mold for both.

sdmc530
03-14-2016, 03:08 PM
I don't cast but I know Zane does, me might be of help.

Lonestar grips.
03-14-2016, 04:57 PM
i'm no expert so keep that in mind but I would say the short answer is yes you could use one mold for both calibers, that's why Ruger Makes a 357/38spl Blackhawk with a spare 9mm cylinder. there are problems that can arise though.

to get the best accuracy possible you need to know what your chamber throats are running in your 38 revolver (i'm assuming that's what it is) and size your bullets to that. same goes for the bore diameter in the 9mm. (i'm assuming it's a semi auto) if the 9mm's bore is oversized or the 38's throats are under sized then you could size the bullets to the same size for both guns since they'd be really close in size to one another.

if there is a vast difference between the two then I would find a mold that threw out .359 bullets and then get two sizing dies, one for each gun. if you shoot too big a bullet for the barrel then you are going to have pressure issues and if you shoot too small a bullet for the barrel then you will have leading issues.

sdmc530
03-14-2016, 04:59 PM
see told you he was an expert. Zane can do anything!

Gatorade
03-14-2016, 06:44 PM
Funny you should bring up the Ruger. That is the exact gun I have. I have another .38 revolver and a 9mm semi auto so I was thinking I could reload for all three with one mold. I will probably get other molds down the line but would be happy if I could get up and running for two calibers with one mold.

Lonestar grips.
03-15-2016, 02:27 AM
see told you he was an expert. Zane can do anything!

if only that were true.;)