PDA

View Full Version : How Phil reloads on a Dillon:

sdmc530
03-14-2017, 11:48 PM
OK so with all this talk about reloading I thought I would start a thread on my process of reloading. I was just going to do a video showing the operation of the Dillon 650 and still will but thought it would be better on the complete process.

Padre gave me the inspiration and thought I start a thread. It will probably take me a while to go through the complete process but will get there with a video.

***Disclaimer*** I am no expert. Not even close and if you see me say or doing something not quite right or you have a better idea of how it should go, speak up please. We all can use great advise from other perspective.

Here we go!

sdmc530
03-15-2017, 12:07 AM
Being I reload on a progressive I only touch my brass once. This is just after I clean it. I collect the brass at the range usually only my own but will pick up others if its what I do shoot. I put it in a mesh bag until I get home then in storage containers. Repeat with next trip to the range. I only reload in the winter so I save brass all year round.

Winter comes and I get to it. I hate this process the most because its very messy. I put media in my tumbler. I use the Lyman Turbo 1200 tumbler. I dump in my media and a cap full of Nufinish car wax. I use Hornaday media because it gives off less dust in my opinion. There are many makers and types of media but this is what I like. I store the media in a big tote and just put in and out as needed.

Then I take the brass from the containers and put in the tumbler with the media and the wax. I run my brass for about 2 hours. Seems good enough for me. I am not worried about getting it perfect but clean enough to be able to visually inspect the case.