PDA

View Full Version : Powder recommendation

Boats
09-30-2012, 07:09 PM
I've recently started reloading for .45 and have been using Unique through a Lee Auto Disk Pro using the micrometer disk on a Lee Turret press.

I don't like the way it feeds - I can't seem to get accurate and uniform drops with this powder. It probably varies by about +/- .3gr

I'd hate to think it was the feeder, though I admit it's possible. Do you all have problems feeding Unique?

What powder feeds uniformly for you if you use a Lee Auto Disk Pro?

I've been using 230gr JHP over 6.0gr of Unique.

sdmc530
09-30-2012, 07:58 PM
I can't speak for your specific set up but I use Winchester 231 powder for my pistol loading. I really like it, very consistent when using an auto type dispenser. I don't get off more than .1 from my loads. I think that is pretty accurate but I am no expert. I like 231 because the min to max range is pretty high so if a min is 5.4 and the max is 6.2 if your dispenser is set at say 5.6 I am never off by more than.1 5.5-5.7. I am pleased with that result.

Not sure if I helped but I can not give an opinion, I am an American. :D

Boats
09-30-2012, 08:14 PM
I can't speak for your specific set up but I use Winchester 231 powder for my pistol loading. I really like it, very consistent when using an auto type dispenser. I don't get off more than .1 from my loads. I think that is pretty accurate but I am no expert. I like 231 because the min to max range is pretty high so if a min is 5.4 and the max is 6.2 if your dispenser is set at say 5.6 I am never off by more than.1 5.5-5.7. I am pleased with that result.

Not sure if I helped but I can not give an opinion, I am an American. :D

Of course it helped! Any information helps at this point... the more the better.

I've never used 231 but I know there are lots of people who swear by it. I guess the question is does it provide accurate drops with my Lee stuff?

Thanks!

sdmc530
09-30-2012, 08:30 PM