PDA

View Full Version : need some direction help

CaffeinFeign
12-08-2013, 09:05 AM
I have not been on this site in a long time, but I am back for some insight for my CBOB. I have been using my CBOB as my main CCW carry for a few years now and have noticed that since I am wearing glasses all the time now. I cant seem to get a fast sight picture with the current sights on the gun. My bifocal glasses seem to have a hard time picking up the small dots on the posts. I am wondering if anyone has any ideas or direction for replacing the posts with brighter dots, but still making them small enough for a carry weapon? I looked at the 1911 sights on Midway, I have no idea whats good and whats not. Thank you for the help, and have a great day.

Riverpigusmc
12-08-2013, 09:26 AM
I'm thinking of going to the Wilson u notch rear Battlesight and gold bead front.

Xbonz
12-08-2013, 11:55 PM
If you are concerned about SD, learn to point shoot. No need to look at sights. Much more natural and reflexive. In a SD situation you don't need to thread a needle. You need to get as much lead on target as quickly as possible, preferably before the BG gets lead on you.

Google "threat focused" for further details

Riverpigusmc
12-09-2013, 08:30 PM
The three dots are reference for fast shooting...not bullseye. Target shooting, top of rear sight and top of front aligned still applies. With my older eyes, the wide U notch rear is looking better and better

CaffeinFeign
12-09-2013, 08:57 PM
thanks for the info, I agree about the SD, point and shoot. I have lots of range time and "center mass" is still what I look for, just as my eyes get older, it bothers me that I cant see the dots on my DW. I have a Mimber and can see those dots just fine. they seem to be bigger and brighter, so I need to change my sights on my cbob. Looked up the sights you spoke about..might be an option. Thank you for the direction.

dw1911
12-29-2013, 01:49 AM