COTEP.org

COTEP.org (https://www.cotep.org/forum/index.php)
-   Main Forum (https://www.cotep.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Archery (https://www.cotep.org/forum/showthread.php?t=11633)

Caleb 09-01-2015 10:45 AM

Archery

Do we have any COTEP archers in the house?

I have an itch that needs scratching. I want to learn how to shoot a bow. So, looking for advice on gear and equipment for a total newb to the sport. I don't "plan" on hunting with it, just mainly backyard fun. What bow (type) should I look at to learn? I know I need to get "fitted" for the right size. Is that something I can do or should I seek professional assistance? Any advice will be appreciated.

Riverpigusmc 09-01-2015 12:15 PM

Lisa still not letting you reload, huh?

Caleb 09-01-2015 12:39 PM

Nah, I have a pig to hunt . :D

sdmc530 09-01-2015 12:42 PM

I realize this is not help but I tried long bow a few years back because I was given one. Couldn't hit crap with it. Tried my brothers big boy bow and was actually worse...terrible. I gave up. Sold the long bow and never looked back. I wish I would have stuck with it or gotten some pro help or something though. Would like have the ability to shoot in back yard......

lesson learned...

BlackKnight 09-01-2015 01:50 PM

Not a hunter, yet, but I have a recurve and a compound that I got about 30 or more years ago.
I wound up being ok with them. While not a professional, nor can give you any good advice, it was a lot of fun.
So much so that I recently looked into getting back into it with my daughters.

LittleGator 09-01-2015 02:03 PM

No one has answered his question. He wants our opinion on whether he needs "professional help." :D

sdmc530 09-01-2015 02:11 PM

Talk to Barbie, she has/had a daughter in arrow flinging!

TLE2 09-01-2015 02:28 PM

I have a compound and a crossbow. I have the crossbow because with the bow, the deer have an outstanding chance to live.