PDA

View Full Version : change of poi as gun warms up?

svandamme
10-23-2011, 08:53 AM
I'm relatively new at this, have about 350 rounds down with my PM7.
It shoots low, have adjusted the sights up.. But i get the idea that the point of impact changes as the gun warms up?
At 10 meters, If i aim for dead center when cold , i'm below the black.
But after 30-35 rounds, i'm right on the money where i aim.

Had this several times now.. but not sure if i am doing this myself, or does the POI considerably change as the gun warms up? :confused:

zenfly
10-23-2011, 09:52 AM
If you're new it may be a good idea to have someone else who you know in a good shooter run it for you off a bench and bags.. Also I have a diopter that goes on my glasses that help you get the target and the sights more in focus at the same time.. I bought it back when i used to shoot a 85lb steel rams at 200yds. in IHMSA.. A very handy item..

Edit: I just searched for a clip on diopter and can't find one... Get a pair of old glasses and use a piece of tape with a 1/16" hole punched in it and tape on the lens over your dominant eye and peek through the hole.. you'll see real cheep how it works with the pistol sights..

svandamme
10-23-2011, 09:57 AM
I know i'm crap with the 45 offhanded, but 2 handed i've managed some reasonable groups. And it's all in the center, it's just that If i point center when it's cold, i get a low group, reasonable group, but low and it seems to creep up when it warms up.

Guess it's just me then?

douglas_knott
10-23-2011, 01:58 PM
i personally haven't heard of a gun doing what your explaining. are you free handing the shots or using a bag? try using a bag starting out and see how it shoots.

Dave Waits
10-23-2011, 08:35 PM
Sounds like you're pulling down on the trigger. Try shooting from a rest cold.

Riverpigusmc
10-23-2011, 08:56 PM